The Vata-Pitta-Kapha Type in Ayurveda

Best Tips for Everyday Life, Nutrition, Yoga & Meditation

The Vata-Pitta-Kapha Ayurveda type is naturally in balance, as all three Doshas (life forces) are present in approximately equal proportions. A meditative, harmonious lifestyle seems to be inherent in this type of person.

What Does Vata-Pitta-Kapha Mean?

The individual constitution of a person is derived from the relationship of the three Doshas: Vata, Pitta, and Kapha. Because this innate constitutional type predetermines how we are doing physically, mentally, and emotionally, it is of the utmost importance in Ayurveda medicine.

It is quite rare that Vata, Pitta, and Kapha are equally pronounced in a human being, a state that is also called the TriDosha. When this is the case, a natural balance is present that is the foundation of health, fitness, and wellbeing par excellence.

Character of the Vata-Pitta-Kapha Type

The poise of Vata-Pitta-Kapha types stands out above all. Nothing flusters them. They are neither lethargic nor wound up; their mind is alert and relaxed. In short, they are the happy types, at peace with themselves.

Should it happen that a Vata-Pitta-Kapha type negates his/her nature, Vata, Pitta, or Kapha can get out of line. In this case, the typical characteristic features of the respective Dosha occur, including disorders, can occur.

Physical Characteristics of the Vata-Pitta-Kapha Type

There is also little to be said concerning the physique of the TriDosha Ayurveda type, since it is usually a medium build. In other words, such a person is neither too slender nor too corpulent and radiates peace and strength.

Typical Vata-Pitta-Kapha Disorders

If Vata-Pitta-Kapha types—who are inherently at ease and in harmony—eat the wrong foods, travel too much, and do not stay true to themselves over a longer period of time, Vata issues such as sleep disorders, digestive disorders, and anxiety may occur. Pitta disorders such as gastritis, heat flashes, difficulty falling asleep, and mushy bowl movements are also possible. If Kapha acts against the Vata and Pitta disorders, obesity, lethargy, and depressions may occur.

Health Tips for Vata-Pitta-Kapha Types

As people with a Vata-Pitta-Kapha constitution are usually in balance, only a few regulating measures can be recommended. Should the digestion fire Agni get out of balance, Plumbago Zeylanica (Bai 01) is recommended, and a short-term purification with the “Three Fruits” (Bai 35) is also a gentle measure option.

Cyavanprash, the Amla fruit jam (Bai 203), can be used as Rasayana (rejuvenation agent). The diet should be well balanced and contain all the elements so that the already existing balance can be maintained.

Before reading the diet tips for Vata-Pitta-Kapha, please rate this site!

[Total: 227    Average: 3.6/5]

The Best Diet for Vata-Pitta-Kapha Types

Warm, well-seasoned food and drinks are the best for the TriDosha person. Due to the balanced digestive strength, this Ayurveda type can also digest cabbage and legumes with ease.

The following list of beneficial foods helps to pacify the more dominant Dosha during the respective season: Kapha is the most active from February to May, Pitta from June to September, and Vata dominates from October to January.

Vata

Sweet fruits such as bananas, coconuts, apples, figs, grapefruits, grapes, mangos, melons, oranges, papayas, peaches, pineapples, plums, berries, cherries, apricots, and avocados. Dried fruits can also be eaten, but not too much.

Pitta

Sweet fruits like: apples, avocados, coconuts, figs, melons, oranges, pears, plums, pomegranates, and mangos. Dried fruit is to be avoided.

Kapha

Apple, berries, cherries, mangos, peaches, pears, and raisins are recommended. Dried figs and plums are good, but other dried fruits should be avoided if possible.

The following general rule applies to fruit consumption: at least one hour before or after meals, but not in the evening.

Vata

Cooked: asparagus, red beets, carrots, sweet potatoes, radish, zucchini, spinach (in small quantities), sprouts (in small quantities), tomatoes (in small quantities), celery, garlic, and onions (only steamed).

Pitta

Sweet and bitter: asparagus, cabbage, cucumber, cauliflower, celery, green beans, lettuce, peas, parsley, potatoes, zucchini, sprouts, cress, chicory, and mushrooms.

Kapha

Spicy and bitter: red beets, cabbage, carrots, cauliflower, celery, eggplant, garlic, lettuce, mushrooms, onions, parsley, peas, radish, spinach, sprouts, fennel, and Brussels sprouts.

Vata

Oats (boiled), brown rice, wheat.

Pitta

Barley, oats (cooked), basmati or white rice, and wheat.

Kapha

Barley, corn, millet, oats, basmati rice (small quantities).

Vata

Eggs (omelets/scrambled eggs), fish, chicken, and other white meat.

Pitta

Eggs are fine. Other animal products are best to avoid.

Kapha

Eggs (scrambled eggs, no fried eggs), chicken, turkey, and rabbit.

Vata

No beans, with the exception of mung beans and black lentils.

Pitta

All legumes, except for lentils.

Kapha

All legumes except for white beans and black lentils. Azuki and black beans are good.

Vata

Jaggery (dried sugar cane juice), brown sugar.

Pitta

Brown sugar, honey (not older than six months).

Kapha

Only organic honey and jaggery.

Vata

All spices, peppers, and chili in small quantities.

Pitta

No spices except for cilantro, cinnamon, turmeric, cardamom, fennel, and some black pepper.

Kapha

All spices.

Vata

Ghee (clarified butter), fresh milk, paneer; soy milk and tofu as a substitute.

Pitta

Butter (unsalted), ghee, goat milk, cow milk, pans, and cheese. Soy milk and tofu as a vegan substitute.

Kapha

Reduced-fat milk in small quantities; avoid fatty cheeses and curd (quark). Soy milk is preferable in general.

Vata

All organic oils.

Pitta

Coconut oil, olive oil, sunflower oil, and soy oil.

Kapha

Walnut and corn oil, but just a little.

Vata

Lukewarm water or milk.

Pitta

Ghee, cold water, and milk.

Kapha

Organic honey.

The Ayurveda Newsletter

You want even more health tips for your Dosha constitution? Subscribe to the free Ayurveda Newsletter from Euroved to get regular tips, recipes, events, and special offers!

Vata, Pitta, or Kapha? The combination of your Doshas is essential for your health. When you know what constitution you have, you better understand why you are the way you are at times. You discover what nutrition is suitable for you and how you can stay healthy, fit, and happy with yoga, exercise, and meditation.

With the free Ayurveda Test from Euroved, you’ll find out what Ayurveda type you are. Simply answer a few questions about your physical, mental, and emotional aspects to get free health and nutrition tips for your personal constitution.

Der Vata-Pitta-Kapha-Typ im Ayurveda

Die besten Tipps für Alltag, Ernährung, Yoga & Meditation

Der Vata-Pitta-Kapha-Ayurveda-Typ ist von sich aus im Gleichgewicht, da alle drei Doshas (Lebenskräfte) in etwa gleichem Anteil vorhanden sind. Ein meditativer, ausgewogener Lebensstil scheint hier bereits angeboren.

Was bedeutet Vata-Pitta-Kapha?

Vata, Pitta und Kapha sind die drei Doshas, aus deren Verhältnis sich die individuelle Konstitution eines Menschen herleitet. Weil dieser angeborene Konstitutions-Typ vorgibt, wie es uns körperlich, geistig und emotional geht, ist er äußerst wichtig in der Ayurveda-Medizin.

Es ist eher selten, dass Vata, Pitta und Kapha in einem Menschen etwa gleich ausgeprägt sind (auch Tridosha genannt). Es liegt dann ein natürliches Gleichgewicht vor – die Grundlage für Gesundheit, Fitness und Wohlbefinden schlechthin.

Charakter des Vata-Pitta-Kapha-Typs

Der Vata-Pitta-Kapha-Typ fällt vor allem durch seine Ausgeglichenheit auf. Nichts bringt ihn aus der Ruhe. Er ist weder träge noch überdreht, der Geist wirkt wach und entspannt. Kurz: Er ist der glückliche, in sich ruhende Typ.

Wenn es dann doch einmal passieren sollte, dass der Vata-Pitta-Kapha-Typ seine Natur verneint, können sowohl Vata als auch Pitta oder Kapha aus der Reihe tanzen. Hier treten dann die für das jeweilige Dosha typischen Charaktermerkmale bis hin zu Störungen auf.

Körperliche Eigenschaften des Vata-Pitta-Kapha-Typs

Auch über den Körperbau des Tridosha-Ayurveda-Typs lässt sich wenig Spezielles sagen, da er in der Regel ein mittlerer ist. Mit anderen Worten: Er ist weder zu schlank noch zu korpulent. Stattdessen strahlt er Ruhe und Kraft aus.

Typische Vata-Pitta-Kapha-Störungen

Sollte der so entspannte in sich ruhende Vata-Pitta-Kapha-Typus über einen längeren Zeitraum das falsche Essen, zu viel Reisen und sich seiner Selbst nicht mehr erinnern, können z. B. Vata Störungen wie Schlafstörungen, Verdauungsstörungen, Ängste auftreten. Auch Pitta Störungen wie etwa Gastritis, Hitzegefühl, Einschlafstörungen, breiige Stühle sind möglich. Steuert Kapha gegen die Vata- und Pitta-Störungen an, kann es zu Übergewicht, Trägheit und Depressionen kommen.

Gesundheitstipps für Vata-Pitta-Kapha-Typen

Da Menschen des Vata-Pitta-Kapha-Typus in der Regel im Gleichgewicht sind, können nur einige wenige regulierende Maßnahmen empfohlen werden: Sollte das Verdauungsfeuer Agni einmal nicht im Gleichgewicht sein, empfiehlt sich Plumbago Zeylanica (Bai 01), auch eine kurzfristige Reinigung mit den „Drei Früchten“ (Bai 35) ist als sanfte Maßnahme denkbar.

Als Rasayana (Verjüngungsmittel) kann Cyavanprash, das Amlafruchtmus (Bai 203), benutzt werden. Die Ernährung sollte ausgewogen und alle Elemente enthaltend gestaltet werden, so kann das bereits bestehende Gleichgewicht gut aufrechterhalten werden.

Bevor Sie die Ernährungstipps für Vata-Pitta-Kapha lesen bewerten Sie doch bitte diese Seite!

[Gesamt:363    Durchschnitt: 3.9/5]

Die beste Ernährung für Vata-Pitta-Kapha-Typen

Am besten sind für den Tridosha-Typus warme, gut gewürzte Speisen und Getränke. Aufgrund seiner ausgeglichenen Verdauungskraft kann dieser Ayurveda-Typ auch Kohl und Hülsenfrüchte gut verdauen.

Die folgende Auflistung zuträglicher Lebensmittel hilft dabei, das in der jeweiligen Jahreszeit dominantere Dosha zu besänftigen: Von Februar bis Mai ist Kapha am aktivsten, von Juni bis September ist die Pitta-Zeit und von Oktober bis Januar dominiert Vata.

Generell gilt für Obst: Mindestens eine Stunde vor oder nach den Mahlzeiten, außerdem nicht am Abend verzehren.

Vata

Süße Früchte wie Banane, Kokosnuss, Apfel, Feige, Grapefruit, Trauben, Mango, Melone, Orange, Papaya, Pfirsich, Ananas, Pflaume, Beeren, Kirschen, Aprikose, Avocado. Alle Früchte können auch als Trockenobst verzehrt werden, aber nicht zu viel.

Pitta

Süße Früchte wie: Apfel, Avocado, Kokosnuss, Feige, Melone, Orange, Birne, Pflaume, Granatapfel, Mango. Trockenobst ist zu vermeiden.

Kapha

Zu empfehlen: Apfel, Beeren, Kirschen, Mango, Pfirsich, Birne, Rosinen. Getrocknete Feigen und Pflaumen sind gut, anderes Trockenobst nach Möglichkeit vermeiden.

Vata

Gekocht: Spargel, rote Beete, Karotte, Süßkartoffel, Rettich, Zucchini, Spinat (in geringen Mengen), Sprossen (in geringen Mengen), Tomaten (in geringen Mengen), Sellerie, Knoblauch, Zwiebel (nur gedämpft).

Pitta

Süß und bitter: Spargel, Kohl, Gurke, Blumenkohl, Sellerie, Brechbohnen, Salat, Erbsen, Petersilie, Kartoffeln, Zucchini, Sprossen, Kresse, Chicorée, Pilze.

Kapha

Würzig und bitter: Rote Beete, Kohl, Karotte, Blumenkohl, Sellerie, Aubergine, Knoblauch, Salat, Pilze, Zwiebeln, Petersilie, Erbsen, Rettich, Spinat, Sprossen, Fenchel, Rosenkohl.

Vata

Hafer (gekocht), brauner Reis, Weizen.

Pitta

Gerste, Hafer (gekocht), Basmati- oder weißer Reis, Weizen.

Kapha

Gerste, Mais, Hirse, Hafer, Basmati-Reis (kleine Mengen).

Vata

Eier (Omelette / Rührei), Fisch, Huhn und anderes weißes Fleisch.

Pitta

Eier sind ok, sonstige tierische Nahrung ist am besten zu vermeiden.

Kapha

Eier (Rührei, kein Spiegelei), Huhn, Pute, Kaninchen.

Vata

Keine Bohnen mit Ausnahme von Mungo-Bohnen und schwarzen Linsen.

Pitta

Alle Hülsenfrüchte außer Linsen.

Kapha

Alle Hülsenfrüchte, ausgenommen weiße Bohnen, schwarze Linsen. Gut sind Azuki und schwarze Bohnen.

Vata

Jaggery (getrockneter Zuckerrohrsaft), brauner Zucker.

Pitta

Brauner Zucker, Honig (nicht älter als 6 Monate).

Kapha

Nur biologischer Honig und Jaggery.

Vata

Alle Gewürze, Pfeffer und Chili in kleinen Mengen.

Pitta

Keine Gewürze außer Koriander, Zimt, Kurkuma, Kardamom, Fenchel und etwas schwarzem Pfeffer.

Kapha

Alle Gewürze.

Vata

Ghee (geklärte Butter), frische Milch, Paneer. Sojamilch und Tofu als Ersatz.

Pitta

Butter (ungesalzen), Ghee, Ziegenmilch, Kuhmilch, Paneer und Käse. Sojamilch und Tofu als veganer Ersatz.

Kapha

Fettreduzierte Milch in kleinen Mengen, zu vermeiden sind fetter Käse und Quark. Generell ist Sojamilch vorzuziehen.

Vata

Alle biologischen Öle.

Pitta

Kokosöl, Olivenöl, Sonnenblumenöl, Sojaöl.

Kapha

Walnuss- und Maisöl, aber nur wenig.

Vata

Als Trägersubstanz für die Einnahme von Kräutern (Anupana) empfehlen sich lauwarmes Wasser oder Milch.

Pitta

Ghee, kaltes Wasser und Milch.

Kapha

Als Trägersubstanz für Kräuter (Anupana) eignet sich biologischer Honig.

Der Ayurveda-Newsletter

Sie wollen noch mehr Gesundheitstipps für Ihre Dosha-Konstitution? Dann abonnieren Sie den kostenlosen Ayurveda-Newsletter von Euroved mit regelmäßigen Tipps, Rezepten, Veranstaltungen und Angeboten!

Vata, Pitta oder Kapha? Die Kombination Ihrer Doshas ist entscheidend für Ihre Gesundheit. Wenn Sie wissen, welche Konstitution Sie haben, verstehen Sie besser, warum Sie in manchmal einfach so sind, wie Sie sind. Sie erfahren, welche Ernährung sich für Sie eignet und wie Sie mit Yoga, Sport und Meditation gesund, fit und glücklich bleiben.

Welcher Ayurveda-Typ Sie sind, finden Sie mit dem kostenlosen Ayurveda-Test von Euroved heraus. Beantworten Sie ganz einfach einige Fragen zu körperlichen, geistigen und emotionalen Aspekten. Im Anschluss erhalten Sie Gesundheits- und Ernährungstipps für Ihre Konstitution.