The Vata-Pitta Type in Ayurveda

Best Tips for Everyday Life, Nutrition, Yoga & Meditation

We speak of a Vata-Pitta Ayurveda type when both the Vata and Pitta Dosha (life forces) are present in a person in approximately equal strength. The combination of the two Doshas requires combining various health tips.

What Does Vata-Pitta Mean?

Vata, Pitta and Kapha regulate our physical, mental, and emotional constitution. Therefore, the respective characteristic of the Doshas plays an important role in Ayurveda.

The Vata-Pitta Ayurveda type combines the hot, ambitious fire of the Pitta with the light, easy-to-irritate Vata Dosha, which keeps the constantly distracted head a bit “in the clouds.”

Depending on whether Vata or Pitta is somewhat more pronounced, the Ayurveda type is referred to as either Vata-Pitta or Pitta-Vata. Approximately the same recommendations can be made for both types.

Character of the Vata-Pitta Type

The Dosha combination makes Vata-Pitta people very creative and constantly full of new ideas. However, they also tend to be a bit extreme. This applies to challenges in life or also, for example, to their preferred sports.

The Vata-Pitta or Pitta-Vata types are permanently under pressure and define themselves in large part by very strong (internal) tension. This permanently high-strung machine successively leads people into a burnout or corresponding depressive tendencies.

Physical Characteristics of the Vata-Pitta Type

People with predominant Vata and Pitta are usually very agile and have a lean to medium stature.

Typical Vata-Pitta Disorders

The rugged and mobile quality of Vata can stir up the hot and mobile quality of Pitta even more. Therefore, Vata-Pitta or Pitta-Vata types are more frequently prone to digestion disorders, both constipation and diarrhea, stomach pressure, bloating, heartburn, inflammatory disorders, erratic pains, migraines, issues with falling and staying asleep, restlessness, strong fits of rage as well as itchy skin rashes.

Health Tips for Vata-Pitta Types

For the Vata-Pitta-Ayurveda type, above all it is important to regulate the Agni (digestive fire); Agni is normally too low or too high. Regular exercise with moderate intensity, yoga, and quiet meditation promote balance. Substances such as Aloe Vera in combination with Plumbago Zeylanica (such as Bai 55) are good for balancing the Agni. Intestinal cleansing with Plantago Ovato (Bai 07) is also recommended.

The “10 roots” (Bai 59), Cyavanprash Amla fruit paste (Bai 203), and Asparagus Racemosus (Bai 39) work well as Rasayana (rejuvenation agents); they have a cleansing and constructive effect on the seven tissues.

Before reading the diet tips for Vata-Pitta, please rate this site!

[Total: 619    Average: 3.8/5]

The Best Diet for Vata-Pitta Types

Vata-Pitta types should utilize the diet tips for both Doshas. However, some contradictions may occur.

The basic rule is that the somewhat more pronounced Dosha should take precedence. Additionally, the more active Dosha in the respective season should be pacified: Pitta is more present from June to September and Vata from October to January.

Vata

Sweet fruits such as bananas, coconuts, apples, figs, grapefruits, grapes, mangos, melons, oranges, papayas, peaches, pineapples, plums, berries, cherries, apricots, and avocados. Dried fruits can also be eaten, but not too much.

Pitta

Sweet fruits like: apples, avocados, coconuts, figs, melons, oranges, pears, plums, pomegranates, and mangos. Dried fruit is to be avoided.

The following general rule applies to fruit consumption: at least one hour before or after meals, but not in the evening.

Vata

Cooked: asparagus, red beets, carrots, sweet potatoes, radish, zucchini, spinach (in small quantities), sprouts (in small quantities), tomatoes (in small quantities), celery, garlic, and onions (only steamed).

Pitta

Sweet and bitter: asparagus, cabbage, cucumber, cauliflower, celery, green beans, lettuce, peas, parsley, potatoes, zucchini, sprouts, cress, chicory, and mushrooms.

Vata

Oats (boiled), brown rice, wheat.

Pitta

Barley, oats (cooked), basmati or white rice, and wheat.

Vata

Eggs (omelets/scrambled eggs), fish, chicken, and other white meat.

Pitta

Eggs are fine. Other animal products are best to avoid.

Vata

No beans, with the exception of mung beans and black lentils.

Pitta

All legumes, except for lentils.

Vata

Jaggery (dried sugar cane juice), brown sugar.

Pitta

Brown sugar, honey (not older than six months).

Vata

All spices, peppers, and chili in small quantities.

Pitta

No spices except for cilantro, cinnamon, turmeric, cardamom, fennel, and some black pepper.

Vata

Ghee (clarified butter), fresh milk, paneer; soy milk and tofu as a substitute.

Pitta

Butter (unsalted), ghee, goat milk, cow milk, pans, and cheese. Soy milk and tofu as a vegan substitute.

Vata

All organic oils.

Pitta

Coconut oil, olive oil, sunflower oil, and soy oil.

Vata

Lukewarm water or milk.

Pitta

Ghee, cold water, and milk.

The Ayurveda Newsletter

You want even more health tips for your Dosha constitution? Subscribe to the free Ayurveda Newsletter from Euroved to get regular tips, recipes, events, and special offers!

Vata, Pitta, or Kapha? The combination of your Doshas is essential for your health. When you know what constitution you have, you better understand why you are the way you are at times. You discover what nutrition is suitable for you and how you can stay healthy, fit, and happy with yoga, exercise, and meditation.

With the free Ayurveda Test from Euroved, you’ll find out what Ayurveda type you are. Simply answer a few questions about your physical, mental, and emotional aspects to get free health and nutrition tips for your personal constitution.

Der Vata-Pitta-Typ im Ayurveda

Die besten Tipps für Alltag, Ernährung, Yoga & Meditation

Sind die beiden Doshas (Lebenskräfte) Vata und Pitta in etwa gleich ausgeprägt, sprechen wir von einem Vata-Pitta-Ayurvedatyp. Die Kombination der zwei Doshas bringt es mit sich, dass verschiedene Gesundheitstipps zu kombinieren sind.

Was bedeutet Vata-Pitta?

Vata, Pitta und Kapha steuern unsere körperliche, geistige und emotionale Konstitution. Deshalb spielt die jeweilige Ausprägung der Doshas im Ayurveda eine wichtige Rolle.

Der Vata-Pitta-Ayurvedatyp vereinigt das heiße, ehrgeizgesteuerte Feuer des Pitta mit dem luftig-leichten, schnell zu irritierenden Vata-Dosha, das ständig ablenkbar den Kopf ein wenig in den Wolken hat.

Je nachdem, ob Vata oder Pitta etwas stärker ausgeprägt ist, spricht man vom Vata-Pitta-Typ oder vom Pitta-Vata-Typ. Für beide lassen sich in etwa die gleichen Empfehlungen aussprechen.

Charakter des Vata-Pitta-Typs

Die Dosha-Kombination führt beim Vata-Pitta-Menschen dazu, dass er sehr kreativ und permanent voll neuer Ideen ist. Er neigt allerdings auch ein wenig zu Extremen. Das kann für Herausforderungen im Leben gelten – oder auch beispielsweise für die bevorzugten Sportarten.

Der Vata-Pitta- oder Pitta-Vata-Typ steht permanent unter Strom und definiert sich größtenteils durch eine sehr starke (innere) Anspannung. Die permanent hoch getaktete Maschine lässt den Menschen mitunter sukzessive in einen Burnout oder entsprechende depressive Neigungen laufen.

Körperliche Eigenschaften des Vata-Pitta-Typs

Menschen mit vorherrschenden Vata und Pitta sind meist sehr beweglich und haben eine schlanke bis mittlere Statur.

Typische Vata-Pitta-Störungen

Die raue und mobile Eigenschaft von Vata kann die heiße und mobile Eigenschaft von Pitta noch mehr in Wallung bringen. Deshalb trifft man bei Vata-Pitta- oder Pitta-Vata-Typen häufiger auf Verdauungsstörungen, sowohl Verstopfungen als auch Durchfälle, Magendruck, Völlegefühl, Sodbrennen, entzündliche Erkrankungen, wandernde Schmerzen, Migräne, Ein- und Durchschlafstörungen, Ruhelosigkeit, starke Wutausbrüche vermischt mit Angstzuständen sowie juckende Hautausschläge.

Gesundheitstipps für Vata-Pitta-Typen

Für den Vata-Pitta-Ayurveda-Typ gilt es vor allem das Agni (Verdauungsfeuer) zu regulieren: Meistens ist das Agni zu niedrig oder zu hoch. Regelmäßiger Sport mit mittlerer Intensität, Yoga und stille Meditation fördern das Gleichgewicht. Um das Agni auszugleichen, sind Substanzen wie Aloe Vera in Verbindung mit Plumbago Zeylanica (etwa Bai 55) geeignet. Es empfehlen sich auch Darmreinigungen mit Plantago Ovato (Bai 07).

Als Rasayana (Verjüngungsmittel) eignen sich die „10 Wurzeln“ (Bai 59), sie wirken reinigend und aufbauend auf die sieben Gewebe. Darüber hinaus: Cyavanprash Amlafruchtpaste (Bai 203) und Asparagus Racemosus (Bai 39).

Bevor Sie die Ernährungstipps für Vata-Pitta lesen bewerten Sie doch bitte diese Seite!

[Gesamt:1152    Durchschnitt: 4/5]

Die beste Ernährung für Vata-Pitta-Typen

Vata-Pitta-Typen sollten möglichst die Ernährungstipps für beide Doshas beachten. Dabei können aber Widersprüche auftreten.

Als Grundregel gilt: Das etwas stärker ausgeprägte Dosha hat einen gewissen Vorrang. Außerdem sollte das in der jeweiligen Jahreszeit aktivere Dosha besänftigt werden: Pitta ist von Juni bis September präsenter, Vata von Oktober bis Januar.

Generell gilt für Obst: Mindestens eine Stunde vor oder nach den Mahlzeiten, außerdem nicht am Abend verzehren.

Vata

Süße Früchte wie Banane, Kokosnuss, Apfel, Feige, Grapefruit, Trauben, Mango, Melone, Orange, Papaya, Pfirsich, Ananas, Pflaume, Beeren, Kirschen, Aprikose, Avocado. Alle Früchte können auch als Trockenobst verzehrt werden, aber nicht zu viel.

Pitta

Süße Früchte wie: Apfel, Avocado, Kokosnuss, Feige, Melone, Orange, Birne, Pflaume, Granatapfel, Mango. Trockenobst ist zu vermeiden.

Vata

Gekocht: Spargel, rote Beete, Karotte, Süßkartoffel, Rettich, Zucchini, Spinat (in geringen Mengen), Sprossen (in geringen Mengen), Tomaten (in geringen Mengen), Sellerie, Knoblauch, Zwiebel (nur gedämpft).

Pitta

Süß und bitter: Spargel, Kohl, Gurke, Blumenkohl, Sellerie, Brechbohnen, Salat, Erbsen, Petersilie, Kartoffeln, Zucchini, Sprossen, Kresse, Chicorée, Pilze.

Vata

Hafer (gekocht), brauner Reis, Weizen.

Pitta

Gerste, Hafer (gekocht), Basmati- oder weißer Reis, Weizen.

Vata

Eier (Omelette / Rührei), Fisch, Huhn und anderes weißes Fleisch.

Pitta

Eier sind ok, sonstige tierische Nahrung ist am besten zu vermeiden.

Vata

Keine Bohnen mit Ausnahme von Mungo-Bohnen und schwarzen Linsen.

Pitta

Alle Hülsenfrüchte außer Linsen.

Vata

Jaggery (getrockneter Zuckerrohrsaft), brauner Zucker.

Pitta

Brauner Zucker, Honig (nicht älter als 6 Monate).

Vata

Alle Gewürze, Pfeffer und Chili in kleinen Mengen.

Pitta

Keine Gewürze außer Koriander, Zimt, Kurkuma, Kardamom, Fenchel und etwas schwarzem Pfeffer.

Vata

Ghee (geklärte Butter), frische Milch, Paneer. Sojamilch und Tofu als Ersatz.

Pitta

Butter (ungesalzen), Ghee, Ziegenmilch, Kuhmilch, Paneer und Käse. Sojamilch und Tofu als veganer Ersatz.

Vata

Alle biologischen Öle.

Pitta

Kokosöl, Olivenöl, Sonnenblumenöl, Sojaöl.

Vata

Als Trägersubstanz für die Einnahme von Kräutern (Anupana) empfehlen sich lauwarmes Wasser oder Milch.

Pitta

Ghee, kaltes Wasser und Milch.

Der Ayurveda-Newsletter

Sie wollen noch mehr Gesundheitstipps für Ihre Dosha-Konstitution? Dann abonnieren Sie den kostenlosen Ayurveda-Newsletter von Euroved mit regelmäßigen Tipps, Rezepten, Veranstaltungen und Angeboten!

Vata, Pitta oder Kapha? Die Kombination Ihrer Doshas ist entscheidend für Ihre Gesundheit. Wenn Sie wissen, welche Konstitution Sie haben, verstehen Sie besser, warum Sie in manchmal einfach so sind, wie Sie sind. Sie erfahren, welche Ernährung sich für Sie eignet und wie Sie mit Yoga, Sport und Meditation gesund, fit und glücklich bleiben.

Welcher Ayurveda-Typ Sie sind, finden Sie mit dem kostenlosen Ayurveda-Test von Euroved heraus. Beantworten Sie ganz einfach einige Fragen zu körperlichen, geistigen und emotionalen Aspekten. Im Anschluss erhalten Sie Gesundheits- und Ernährungstipps für Ihre Konstitution.