The Pitta Type in Ayurveda

Best Tips for Everyday Life, Nutrition, Yoga & Meditation

We speak of a Pitta Ayurveda type when the Pitta Dosha is predominant in a person. The very focused and pragmatic Pitta types stay healthy and cheerful when they abide by a few basic rules.

What Does Pitta Mean?

Vata, Pitta, and Kapha are the three life forces (Sanskrit: Dosha), which give each person a unique constitution. This so-called Ayurveda type is innate and does not change during one’s entire life. It is therefore of particular importance in Ayurvedic medicine.

Pitta contains the properties of the fire and water element, but the former is more pronounced. Thus, Pitta regulates all metabolic processes in the body as well as body temperature and our hormonal balance. Hunger, thirst, and even intelligence are associated with Pitta.

Character of the Pitta Type

Pitta types can be well-structured, manage projects, and concentrate exceptionally well. They want to do something and are practically predisposed. They are a pleasure as teachers because their lessons are logically organized, and everyone can follow their clear manner of expression. The Pitta type spends money more systematically and prudently.

The Pitta person likes strong massages with cooling oils (e.g., with rose and sandalwood), enjoying the outdoors as well as a bright and well-ventilated workplace. An open-plan office or working at the stove would make life more difficult for him/her and for colleagues sharing the same space.

Pitta types love to exercise outdoors and enjoy measuring their skills with others in order to prove their fighting spirit. They prefer light, loose-fitting clothing made of natural materials in both summer and winter.

Physical Characteristics of the Pitta Type

The first thing you notice with Pitta-dominant people is their clarity and radiance. They are of average stature, have medium-sized eyes and a piercing glance; they are muscular and have a thirst for action. Their skin is rather bright and sensitive, and the hair of European Pitta types is often reddish or blond. Their gums tend to bleed and their teeth are more yellowish than white. Their memory is precise.

Typical Pitta Disorders

Sörung des Pitta-Ayurvedatypus

If their fire gets the better of them, Pitta people can be inclined to have fits of anger or rage, especially when they’re hungry. After prolonged, concentrated work, the Pitta type has a difficult time relaxing, and sleep disorders can occur.

If the Pitta type derails, inflammation in the body may occur. For example, the following illnesses could develop: gastritis, stomach and intestinal ulcers, acne, eczema and other skin diseases such as furuncles and abscesses, as well as liver infections.

Health Tips for Pitta Types

For people with very pronounced Pitta, it is very important to avoid extremes. Exercise is good for the Pitta type to blow off steam, but the best activities are those of moderate exertion such as jogging, dancing, or cycling. The same applies to food; here, above all, very large portions should be avoided.

Otherwise, it helps to stay away from sources of heat and instead look for a cool, well-ventilated environment. Feelings should be expressed calmly. Deep massages with Bai 86 or Bai 386 oil (e.g. rolfing, rebalancing, shiatsu) and Osho meditations are all good.

Before reading the diet tips for Pitta, please rate this site!

[Total: 658    Average: 3.7/5]

The Best Diet for Pitta Types

The Pitta person can be soothed by a predominantly vegetarian diet, bitter vegetables are preferable. The food should not be too spicy, salty, or sour (rather cool in summer and hot in winter). Alcohol-free beverages (a beer from time to time) and the occasional use of stimulants like coffee and tea are recommended.

For Pitta types, the recommended foods are:

Sweet fruits like: apples, avocados, coconuts, figs, melons, oranges, pears, plums, pomegranates, and mangos. Dried fruit is to be avoided.

In general, fruit should be consumed an hour before or after meals and not in the evenings.

Sweet and bitter: asparagus, cabbage, cucumber, cauliflower, celery, green beans, lettuce, peas, parsley, potatoes, zucchini, sprouts, cress, chicory, and mushrooms.

Barley, oats (cooked), basmati or white rice, and wheat.

Eggs are fine. Other animal products are best to avoid.

All legumes, except for lentils.

Brown sugar, honey (not older than six months).

No spices except for cilantro, cinnamon, turmeric, cardamom, fennel, and some black pepper.

Butter (unsalted), ghee, goat milk, cow milk, pans, and cheese. Soy milk and tofu as a vegan substitute.

Coconut oil, olive oil, sunflower oil, and soy oil.

Ghee, cold water, and milk as carrier substance for herbs.

The Ayurveda Newsletter

You want even more health tips for your Dosha constitution? Subscribe to the free Ayurveda Newsletter from Euroved to get regular tips, recipes, events, and special offers!

Vata, Pitta, or Kapha? The combination of your Doshas is essential for your health. When you know what constitution you have, you better understand why you are the way you are at times. You discover what nutrition is suitable for you and how you can stay healthy, fit, and happy with yoga, exercise, and meditation.

With the free Ayurveda Test from Euroved, you’ll find out what Ayurveda type you are. Simply answer a few questions about your physical, mental, and emotional aspects to get free health and nutrition tips for your personal constitution.

Der Pitta-Typ im Ayurveda

Die besten Tipps für Alltag, Ernährung, Yoga & Meditation

Ist bei einem Menschen das Pitta-Dosha besonders ausgeprägt, sprechen wir von einem Pitta-Ayurvedatyp. Gesund und munter bleibt der sehr fokussierte und pragmatische Pitta-Typus, wenn sich an einige grundlegende Regeln hält.

Was bedeutet Pitta?

Vata, Pitta und Kapha sind die drei Lebenskräfte (Sanskrit: Doshas), die jedem Menschen eine einzigartige Konstitution verleihen. Dieser sogenannte Ayurveda-Typ ist angeboren und ändert sich das gesamte Leben nicht. Er ist deshalb von besonderer Bedeutung in der ayurvedischen Medizin.

Pitta enthält Eigenschaften des Feuer- und des Wasserelements, wobei ersteres verstärkt vorkommt. Pitta regelt deshalb alle Stoffwechselvorgänge im Körper, ebenso die Körpertemperatur und unseren Hormonhaushalt. Hunger, Durst aber auch die Intelligenz werden mit Pitta in Verbindung gebracht.

Charakter des Pitta-Typs

Der Pitta-Typ kann gut strukturiert vorgehen, Projekte leiten und sich hervorragend konzentrieren. Er will etwas bewirken und ist praktisch veranlagt. Als Lehrer ist er eine Wonne, denn sein Unterricht ist logisch aufgebaut und jeder kann seiner klaren Ausdrucksweise folgen. Sein Geld gibt der Pitta-Typ eher systematisch und überlegt aus.

Der Pitta-Mensch mag kräftige Massagen mit kühlenden Ölen (z. B. mit Rose und Sandelholz), den Aufenthalt und die Bewegung an frischer Luft sowie einen großzügig hellen und gut gelüfteten Arbeitsplatz. Ein Großraumbüro oder das Arbeiten am Herd würde ihm und seinen Kollegen das Leben erschweren.

Der Pitta-Typ treibt gerne Sport im Freien und misst auch gerne sein Können mit anderen, um seine Kämpfernatur unter Beweis zu stellen. Er mag im Sommer wie im Winter leichte, nicht einengende Bekleidung aus Naturstoffen.

Körperliche Eigenschaften des Pitta-Typs

Beim Pitta-dominanten Menschen fallen in erster Linie seine Klarheit und sein Strahlen auf. Er ist von mittlerer Statur, hat mittelgroße Augen und einen durchdringenden Blick, er ist muskulös und voller Tatendrang. Seine Haut ist eher hell und sensibel, seine Haare sind bei Europäern oft rötlich oder blond. Sein Zahnfleisch neigt zu Blutungen, die Zähne sind eher gelblich als weiß. Sein Gedächtnis ist prägnant.

Typische Pitta-Störungen

Sörung des Pitta-Ayurvedatypus

Geht sein Feuer mit ihm durch, kann der Pitta-Mensch zu Wutausbrüchen neigen, vor allem wenn er hungrig ist. Nach langanhaltender konzentrierter Arbeit fällt es dem Pitta-Typ schwer, zu entspannen. Es können Einschlafstörungen auftreten.

Entgleist das Pitta, kann es im Körper zu Entzündungen kommen. Es können sich z. B. folgende Erkrankungen entwickeln: Gastritis, Magen- und Darmgeschwüre, Akne, Ekzeme und andere Hauterkrankungen, wie Furunkel und Abszesse sowie Leberentzündungen.

Gesundheitstipps für Pitta-Typen

Für Menschen mit sehr ausgeprägtem Pitta gilt es vor allem Extreme zu vermeiden. Sport tut dem Pitta-Typ zum Dampfablassen gut, am besten sind jedoch Aktivitäten mit mittlerer Belastungen wie Joggen, Tanzen oder Radfahren. Ähnliches gilt für das Essen, hier sind vor allem zu große Portionen zu vermeiden.

Ansonsten hilft es, sich von Hitzequellen fernzuhalten und stattdessen ein kühles, gut gelüftetes Umfeld zu suchen. Gefühle sollten ruhig ausgedrückt werden. Gut tun tiefe Massagen mit Bai 86 oder Bai 386 Öl (z. B. Rolfing, Rebalancing, Shiatsu) und Osho-Meditationen.

Bevor Sie die Ernährungstipps für Pitta lesen bewerten Sie doch bitte diese Seite!

[Gesamt:1260    Durchschnitt: 4/5]

Die beste Ernährung für Pitta-Typen

Grundsätzlich lässt sich das Pitta durch vorwiegend vegetarisches Essen besänftigen, bittere Gemüse sind zu bevorzugen. Die Speisen sollten nicht zu scharf, salzig oder sauer sein (eher kühl im Sommer und heiß im Winter). Alkoholfreie Getränke (hin und wieder ein Bier) und der sparsame Einsatz von Stimulanzien wie Kaffee und Tee sind anzuraten.

Für Pitta empfohlene Lebensmittel sind:

Süße Früchte wie: Apfel, Avocado, Kokosnuss, Feige, Melone, Orange, Birne, Pflaume, Granatapfel, Mango. Trockenobst ist zu vermeiden.

Generell gilt: Obst mindestens eine Stunde vor oder nach den Mahlzeiten, außerdem nicht am Abend verzehren.

Süß und bitter: Spargel, Kohl, Gurke, Blumenkohl, Sellerie, Brechbohnen, Salat, Erbsen, Petersilie, Kartoffeln, Zucchini, Sprossen, Kresse, Chicorée, Pilze.

Gerste, Hafer (gekocht), Basmati- oder weißer Reis, Weizen.

Eier sind ok, sonstige tierische Nahrung ist am besten zu vermeiden.

Alle Hülsenfrüchte außer Linsen.

Brauner Zucker, Honig (nicht älter als 6 Monate).

Keine Gewürze außer Koriander, Zimt, Kurkuma, Kardamom, Fenchel und etwas schwarzem Pfeffer.

Butter (ungesalzen), Ghee, Ziegenmilch, Kuhmilch, Paneer und Käse. Sojamilch und Tofu als veganer Ersatz.

Kokosöl, Olivenöl, Sonnenblumenöl, Sojaöl.

Ghee, kaltes Wasser und Milch.

Der Ayurveda-Newsletter

Sie wollen noch mehr Gesundheitstipps für Ihre Dosha-Konstitution? Dann abonnieren Sie den kostenlosen Ayurveda-Newsletter von Euroved mit regelmäßigen Tipps, Rezepten, Veranstaltungen und Angeboten!

Vata, Pitta oder Kapha? Die Kombination Ihrer Doshas ist entscheidend für Ihre Gesundheit. Wenn Sie wissen, welche Konstitution Sie haben, verstehen Sie besser, warum Sie in manchmal einfach so sind, wie Sie sind. Sie erfahren, welche Ernährung sich für Sie eignet und wie Sie mit Yoga, Sport und Meditation gesund, fit und glücklich bleiben.

Welcher Ayurveda-Typ Sie sind, finden Sie mit dem kostenlosen Ayurveda-Test von Euroved heraus. Beantworten Sie ganz einfach einige Fragen zu körperlichen, geistigen und emotionalen Aspekten. Im Anschluss erhalten Sie Gesundheits- und Ernährungstipps für Ihre Konstitution.